Holness Appoints First Jamaica House Fellows

Eight Jamaicans were yesterday appointed as inaugural Jamaica House fellows.

This, as the government officially launched its Jamaica House Fellowship Programme at the Office of the Prime Minister in St. Andrew.

The government says the fellowship is part of an effort to improve the available pool of leaders and senior members of the public service.

The programme will see the fellows interact with Prime Minister, Andrew Holness, various government officials and agencies.

The fellows are Lavois Cruickshank, Christopher Graham, Karelle Samuda, Andre Silburn, Sherona Forrester and Aubrey Stewart, all university graduates.

And Mark Tracey, who’s been seconded from the private sector.

Prime Minister Holness says the fellows represent the first of many initiatives to create a public sector based on merit.

The eight fellows were selected through a competitive process of over 1-hundred-and-20 applicants.

They’ll serve as paid fellows for two-years. Their duties include providing analysis and support to help in decision-making at the highest levels.

Prime Minister Holness says he hopes the programme will help in returning much of the lost prestige in the public service.

The application process for the programme will reopen again next year.