The International Cricket Council, ICC, has confirmed the schedule and points structure of the 2021-23 World Test Championship.

The championship is set to bowl off in August with India’s five-Test series in England.

Points will be awarded on a match-by-match basis as opposed to the series-by-series basis of the 2019-21 cycle, with the teams’ rankings determined by percentage of points won.

The nine teams in the World Test Championship will each play six series.

Three of the series will be at home and the other three away.

The teams will however play an unequal number of Tests, ranging from 22 Test matches for England to 12 for Bangladesh.

Each Test will carry a total of 12 points. A win will fetch all 12 points, a tie six points and a draw four points.

New Zealand were the winners of the last World Test Championships.