Prime Minister Andrew Holness has made more changes to his cabinet and other changes to the government.

Minister without Portfolio in the Finance Ministry, Fayval Williams, is to head the controversial Energy, Science and Technology Ministry. The change comes as Petrojam– which falls under the Ministry– is engulfed in a worsening scandal. The last cabinet reshuffle was in March 2018.

In a statement, this afternoon, the Office of the Prime Minister, says since Prime Minister Holness, took over the Ministry in July 2018, significant policy, governance and administrative advances have been made. It says the boards of all the agencies falling under the Portfolios have been reconstituted where necessary and appropriately missioned.

Permanent Secretary in the Justice Ministry Carol Palmer is to now take up that role at the Energy, Science and Technology Ministry. Other changes in Cabinet include, State Ministry at the Education Ministry, to be assigned to the Ministry of Industry Commerce and Agriculture.

Alando Terrelonge, who’s now State Minister at the Gender, Entertainment, Culture and Sports Ministry, will be assigned to the Ministry of Education Youth and Information.

Additionally, Permanent Secretary Sancia Bennett Templar will be assigned to the Ministry of Justice. Permanent Secretary Audrey Sewell will take up an additional assignment at the Office of the Prime Minister.

Reacting to the news, Pubic Commentator, Martin Henry says Mrs Williams was an excellent choice from the start to head the Ministry of Science, Energy and Technology.

[audio_mp3 url=”″]