World Champions Tajay Gayle and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce headline the list of nominees for the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year award for 2019.

On the men’s side, Gayle will get strong competition from shot putters Fedrick Dacres and Travis Smikle.

Diver Yona-Knight Wisdom and squash player Christopher Binnie were also nominated.

Meanwhile, on the women’s side, Fraser-Pryce will get strong competition from seven other Track and field athletes – Rushell Clayton, Natoya Goule, Shericka Jackson, Shanieka Ricketts, Danniel Thomas-Dodd, Elaine Thompson and Danielle Williams.

However, her strongest competition will come from last year’s winner, Alia Atkinson.