The three members of the Constabulary who were before the Supreme Court in relation to the 2012 shooting of a schoolgirl have been found guilty of manslaughter.

Reports are on March 20, 2012, at around 9:30 p.m., Constables Andrewain Smith, Durvin Hayles, and Anna-Kay Bailey drove on to Norman Lane in St Andrew, where they opened fire on a blue Suzuki Swift motor car.

The shooting reportedly happened after the police instructed the driver of the car to stop. A chase reportedly ensued where the police shot on the car hitting Vanessa Kirkland. The police were charged for murder.

Before her summation, Presiding Judge, Justice Carol Lawrence-Beswick, told the seven-member jury they have the option of considering the lesser charge of manslaughter.

The jury eventually returned not guilty verdicts of murder for the members of the Constabulary. But the three cops were however slapped with the lesser charge of manslaughter.

The members of the Constabulary will return to Court next Thursday where a sentencing date will be set.