Prime Minister Andrew Holness has appointed a 21-member board at the Caribbean Maritime University, CMU, headed by Port Authority boss, Professor Gordon Shirley.

Mr. Holness made the announcement while addressing the House of Representatives yesterday.

The board will also include the current acting President of the University, Professor  Ibrahim Ajagunna, Registrar of UWI Mona, Dr. Donovan Stanberry and Grantley Stephenson, representing the Government of Norway.

He says the government plans to review and could amend the structure of the university’s legislation.

Prime Minister Holness says the Council will also be tasked with establishing a risk management system.

He says the Education Ministry will temporarily monitor all major procurement procedures at the institution.

The Prime Minister again expressed concerns about reports that the previous board signed a non-disclosure agreement, NDA.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness, speaking yesterday in Parliament.

The CMU is at the epicentre of a scandal that has seen the arrest and charge of former Education Minister, Ruel Reid, its President Professor Fritz Pinnock and three others.

All five accused have been charged with corruption-related offences.

But, they have denied the allegations against them.

The members of the council are:

Professor Gordon Shirley – Chairman 
Professor Ibrahim Ajagunna
Noel Brown
Devon Garden 
Kerry Tulloch 
Glenardo Simpson 
Dwayne Powell
Kerry Clarke
Trevor Riley 
Donovan Stanberry 
Therese Chambers
Mark Hart
Peter Brady
Dr Marshall Hall
Donovan Perkins 
Mitsy Gordon Burke Green 
Grantley Stephenson 
Peter McCarty 
Worrel Morris 
Professor Gosif Oliver