Andrew Holness, has survived as Opposition Leader following a vote this afternoon by Members of Parliament at the Labour Party’s Belmont Road Headquarters in St. Andrew.

In a secret ballot, Mr. Holness reportedly won 13 of the 20 votes cast by the Opposition MPs present.

The only absent MP was JC Hutchinson of North West St. Elizabeth.

Moving together as one!

That’s the word from Leader of Opposition Business in the House of Representatives Derrick Smith, coming out of today’s parliamentary vote of confidence in Andrew Holness.

Mr. Smith declined to confirm word from several of Nationwide News sources in the meeting who indicated that there was a secret ballot of the Opposition MPs.

13 MPs reportedly voted in favor of Mr. Holness remaining Opposition Leader and 7 against. JC Hutchinson sent his vote in writing. Mr. Holness did not vote.

Heading into the meeting this morning our sources indicated that Mr. Chuck and his colleague Opposition MP’s Daryl Vaz,  Gregory Mair, Marissa Darymple Phillibert, James Robertson, Audley Shaw and Rudyard Spencer were the seven likely to go against Holness remaining as Opposition Leader.

As they left the meeting all 7, including Mr. Shaw declined to comment saying Mr. Smith would speak on their behalf.

Among those who also declined to give details on today’s meeting were Edmund Bartlett, Desmond McKenzie and Karl Samuda.

Mr. Bartlett insisted that the JLP is now united.