Marjorie Gordon tells us more.

Opposition Leader, Dr. Peter Phillips, has announced his new 31 member shadow cabinet this afternoon.

The list includes 19 new Shadow Ministers for 20 Portfolios alongside what Dr. Phillips calls 12 Political Portfolio appointments.

The new Council of Spokespersons comes one month after Dr. Phillips retained the leadership of the PNP.

The new shadow cabinet is a mix of original members and new faces.

Opposition Leader, Dr. Peter Phillips,  will have with him in his office, UWI Economist, Dr. Andre Haughton. He’ll have oversight for Planning and Development.

Dr. Phillip’s former challenger, Peter Bunting has been moved to Education and Training from industry, investment and competitiveness.

He’s replacing Central Kingston MP, Ronald Thwaites, who has announced his intention not to seek re-election.

MP Michael Stewart, will have oversight of Teacher Development and Stakeholder Relations under Mr. Bunting.

Horace Dalley and Phillip Paulwell retain their portfolios for Labour and Social Security and Mining and Energy respectively.

Paulwell has been replaced as Leader of Opposition Business in the House, Dr. Morais Guy, will now shadow Health and Wellness.

Julian Robinson retains Science and Technology and Donna Scott Motley Justice.

The critical post of Finance will be retained by Bunting Backer, Mark Golding, who will be assisted by Senator Lambert Brown, who continues as spokesperson for Public Service.

PNP Chairman, Fitz Jackson, will also continue as Spokesman on National Security.

Lisa Hanna and Dr. Wykeham McNeill retain their positions to shadow Foreign Affairs and Tourism respectively.

However, notable Bunting Backers, Dr. Dayton Campbell and Dr. Angela Brown-Burke are out.

Brown Burke has been replaced as Local Government Spokesperson by MP Natalie Neita.

Ms. Neita acted as Dr. Phillips’ Campaign Manager during his presidential re-election bid.

However, Dr. Fenton Ferguson who backed Mr. Bunting has been given oversight of Water and Climate change.

He replaces his fellow Bunting Backer, Ian Hayles who has not retained a position in Phillips’ Shadow Cabinet.

MP Victor Wright, has been named spokesperson for Agriculture, the post previously held by Dr. Ferguson.

Senator Sophia Fraser Binns alongside Richard Azan will have responsibility for Land and Housing respectively.

Senator, Damian Crawford, has been called on by Dr. Phillips to speak on Social Transformation, Community Development and Culture.

Another Phillips Supporter, Denise Daley, has been given oversight of Youth, Gender Affairs, Entertainment and Sports.

She’ll be assisted by, MP Dwayne Vaz, who has been given responsibility for Youth and Entertainment.

MP Mikael Phillips retains Transport and Works.

Dr. Phillips this afternoon explained the strategy in selecting his team.

[Cart No: <Carts>Peter Phillips on his Shadow Cabinet 03OCT2019.MP3Time: 35sOut-cue: ]