People’s National Party, PNP, President and Leader of the Opposition, Dr Peter Phillips has named an interim Shadow Cabinet to facilitate the effective functioning of the Opposition in Parliament until the Party elects a new leader.

In the meantime, the PNP says all the members of the previous Shadow Cabinet have been asked to maintain their existing portfolio oversight responsibilities. 

It says those responsibilities exercised previously by members who were unsuccessful in the election have been reassigned to newly elected members in the House and the Senate.

These include Senator Lambert Brown who will now offer oversight for the Public Service.

Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate and Attorney, Senator Donna Scott-Mottley will also perform as Opposition Spokesperson for Justice.

Meanwhile, Education and Training Shadow Minister is Dr Angela Brown-Burke.

Community Development & Culture will be shadowed by Opposition Senator, Damion Crawford.

Political newcomer and Opposition Senator, Janice Allen will shadow the Tourism portfolio.

Senator Dr Floyd Morris will perform as Opposition spokesman on Labour, Social Security and Special Abilities.

Senator Sophia Fraser Binns is Opposition spokesperson on Land and Housing.

Agriculture and Rural Development  will be shadowed by newly minted South West Clarendon MP, Lothian Cousins. 

MP Natalie Neita, will shadow the Local Government portfolio while Youth, Gender Affairs, Entertainment and Sports will be given opposition oversight by MP Denise Daley.

Newly appointed Senator and Businessman, Norman Horne is now Shadow Minister for Water, Environment and Climate Change.