The European Union has named 14 countries whose citizens are deemed “safe” to be let in from July 1, despite the pandemic.

The United States, Brazil and China are excluded.

Those named include Australia, Canada, Japan, Morocco and South Korea.

Diplomats say the EU is ready to add China if the Chinese government offers a reciprocal deal for EU travellers.

EU border controls have been lifted for EU citizens travelling inside the bloc. Rules for UK travellers are covered separately in the Brexit negotiations.

UK nationals are still to be treated in the same way as EU citizens until the end of the Brexit transition period on December 31. 

During that time UK nationals and their family members are exempt from the temporary travel restriction.

The current “safe” list, still likely to be amended, also includes Algeria, Georgia, Montenegro, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

The UK is currently negotiating “air bridges” with several EU member states, so that coronavirus does not totally block summer holidays- the busiest season in Europe for tourism, which employs millions of people.